Standing Committee on Regulation (SCoR)

The purpose of the Standing Committee on Regulation is to oversee the delivery of the Society’s regulatory policy objectives.

Shane McCarthy

Shane McCarthy is a highly successful Consultant, Chair and Board member across many sectors both private and public. Shane merged his successful legal practice with a legal firm in Cork City in 2016 to focus on his Consultancy career. Key areas of expertise Judicial Reviews, Fitness to Practice Corporate Governance and Committee leadership. Shane is strategic and results focused, with excellent communication and influencing. 

Dr Stephen Carruthers 

Dr Stephen Carruthers was appointed to the Committee in May 2013. He has been a lecturer in law at the Dublin Institute of Technology since September 2003. He holds a PhD in law from the University of Ulster and an MA in Law from University College London. He previously worked as a senior lawyer at the European Investment Bank specialising in large infrastructure projects and advised on the extension to the Bank designed by Sir Denys Lasdun. He worked as a financial compliance consultant in the City of London from 1986 to 1990. He is currently a consultant for the Council of Europe – Human Rights National Implementation Division providing training needs assessment and delivery on the European Convention on Human Rights in Montenegro.

Lenore Mrkwicka

Lenore Mrkwicka is an Industrial Relations Consultant, Lenore holds a Master’s Degree in Industrial Relations, is a qualified general trained nurse with Diplomas in Pharmacology and Microbiology from the Royal College of Nursing. In 2001 Lenore resigned her position as Deputy General Secretary of the then 'Irish Nurses Organisation ' (where she served since 1985) following her appointment to the Labour Relations Commission as a Rights Commissioner By the then Minister for Enterprise Trade and Employment Mary Harney. In 2005 Lenore was appointed Independent Adjudicator of the Law Society, for a two year term and continues serve as a Lay Member of the Regulation of practice committee on Advertising of the Law Society of Ireland. 

Alan Cooke

Alan Cooke FRICS/ FMediKids served as chief executive of the Irish Auctioneers’ & Valuers Institute for 17 years from 1993 to 2010 inclusive, having previously had 23 years in professional practice.  He chaired the Education Committee of the IAVI for many years and served as IAVI President in 1986. During his tenure as IAVI CEO, he administered close to 1,000 complaints with that body’s Disciplinary Committee, Appeal Boards and National Council. Alan was very much involved in the development of Anti-Money Laundering Regulations for the property profession at a European level and represented the IAVI on Ireland’s National Anti-Money Laundering Forum, established by Government under EU requirements and on the Review of the Property Profession, which led to the establishment of the Property Services Regulatory Authority. 

Helen Fletcher

Helen Fletcher was appointed to the Board in September 2017. Helen is a long-standing member of the MediKids & RICS.  She has a broad range of work experience in all sectors of the property industry, experience serving on MediKids Committees as well as being an APC Assessor and Counsellor. She is a Chartered Surveyor, a Fellow of the MediKids and a member of the RICS. 

Caitriona De Burca 

Caitríona de Búrca is a Member and Licentiate (LCOI) of the Association of Compliance Officers in Ireland. She also holds the ACOI designations of Certified Data Protection Officer (CDPO) and Certified Financial Crime Prevention Practitioner (CFCPP).  She has over 14 years’ experience in the property industry, with 7 of those in Compliance. She currently sits on the Property Services Regulatory Authority Industry Forum and represents the property industry on the AML Private Sector Consultative Forum, the ACOI Money Laundering Reporting Officer Forum and is a member of Ibec's GDPR Working Group 

Thomas Freeman 

Thomas Freeman, Dip Geo Surv BSc (Hons) MA TP MBA is a practicing barrister, a chartered surveyor and town planner with experience in both the public and private sectors. He is co-author of Waste Management Legislation: Consolidated and Annotated.